Certified Filters

A selecting a certified filter from the Communication Alliance Family Friendly Filter Program ensures that filter has been rigorously and independently tested by Enex TestLab.

Case Studies

Family Friendly Filters

To specifically qualify for Family Friendly Filter status and be listed on this page, a filter must undergo rigorous independent testing to ensure that it meets the criteria as set out in the relevant Industry Code.

These include effectiveness, ease of use, configurability, availability of support and agreement by the filter company providing the filter to update the filter as required by the Office of the eSafety Commissioner, for example where the Office determines following a complaint that a specified site is prohibited under Australian law.

Classes of Accredited Filters

The Office of the eSafety Commissioner has 4 levels of classification for certified filters:

  • Unclassified: Block websites on the eSafety Commissioner’s Prohibited URL Filter (PUF) list and are recommended for 18+ years of age.
  • Class 1: Recommended for children over 15 years of age
  • Class 2: Recommended for children between 10 and 15 years of age.
  • Class 3: Recommended for children under 10 years of age.


Class 3 is the highest certification.

VendorProductVersionCertificationCertification DateExpiry DateStatus
NortonLifeLock Inc.Norton Family3.8.6.41Class 3March 2022March 2023Valid
NortonLifeLock Inc.Norton 360 w/Family3.8.6.41Class 3March 2022March 2023Valid
Safe Surfer LtdSafe Surfer2.6.0Class 1March 2022March 2023Valid
Trend MicroMaximum Security17.7Class 1February 2022February 2023Valid
Trend MicroHome Network Security6.92Class 1December 2022December 2023Valid
Netspark Inc.Canopy2.7.2Class 3December 2021December 2022Valid
McAfeeSafe Family2.9Class 1December 2019December 2020Expired
McAfeeSafe Family2.9.3.144Class 3December 2021December 2022Valid
McAfeeSecure Home Platfrom3.24Class 3November 2021November 2022Valid
ExetelHome Secure0.1Class 3January 2021January 2022Expired
Family ZoneFamily ZoneClass 3January 2020January 2021Expired
Australian Private NetworksService offeringClass 3June 2018June 2019Expired
SymantecNorton Family3.6.4.71Class 1July 2017July 2018Expired